Moscow State Symphony Orchestra

Moscow State Symphony

Pavel Kogan, conductor
Nadja Salerno-Sonnenberg, violin

8 p.m. Wednesday, Nov. 5

The MOSCOW STATE SYMPHONY ORCHESTRA was founded in 1943 by the Kremlin and is one of the five oldest concert orchestras in Russia. Since its inception, the MSSO has been led by a series of distinguished Soviet musical giants, propelling the MSSO into one of the world's most prominent symphonic ensembles. Under the current leadership of Maestro Pavel Kogan, the Moscow State Symphony Orchestra is renowned around the globe.

Electrifying performances, fearless interpretations and musical depth have established violinist NADJA SALERNO-SONNENBERG as one of the leading violinists of our time. She is also currently the music director of the New Century Chamber Orchestra.


  • Tchaikovsky, “Romeo and Juliet” Fantasy Overture
  • Bruch, Violin Concerto No. 1 in G minor, Op. 26
  • Tchaikovsky, Symphony No. 4 in F minor, Op. 36

"The MSSO might well be the world's least-heralded great orchestra… The intensity was a shock… With these revelatory Russians, a free seismic test is part of the bargain." — Los Angeles Times